Wigan St Pats 46 Ryland Sharks 26

RYLANDS crashed out of the NWML trophy preliminary stage after putting in a real Jekyll and Hyde performance against a strong St Pats A side.

For the first 30 minutes the Sharks were in total control and posted two early tries in five minutes through Luke Walker and eight minutes through Lewis Litherland after good work from Dave Walker, both converted by Leonard.

But on the half-hour mark the game completely turned around following an inception try from St Pats’ centre Will Broadman, converted by Anthony Atherton.

On 35 minutes Andy Higham crossed for the home side with Atherton converting to level the scores.

On the hooter Mark Bayman crossed over to give St Pats a 16-12 lead at the turnaround.

The second period started the way the first period ended with four tries in less than 15 minutes for the Wigan outfit through Matt Fishwick on 42 minutes, Luke Taylor 44 minutes, Ryan Baxter 48 minutes, and Mark Bayman 53 minutes, all converted by Dan Carter.

It took a disallowed try to galvanise Rylands and two quick tries on 60 minutes and 65 minutes both from Rob Cambell with Leonard adding one conversion gave the away support a glimmer of hope.

But this was dashed after John Padgett crossed over for the hosts with Carter again converting on 70 minutes.

Rylands had the last word when two minutes later Matty Wilson crashed over the try line to give the Sharks a deserved consolation try.

Best for Rylands were Matty Wilson, Jack Sherratt, and Dave Walker while Ryan Braddock shone for St Pats.

Rylands Luke Walker: Danny Hoyland, Carl Lloyd, Dane Evans, Aaron Holliday: Dave Walker, Jack Cosgrove: Rob Cambell, Louis Walsh, Jack Sherratt, Lewis Litherland, Matty Taylor, Matty Wilson. Subs Phil Leonard, Ryan Palin, Mike Ward, Mike Lager.