WARRINGTON Wolves have confirmed their squad numbers for 2022, with several big changes.

Perhaps the biggest is Gareth Widdop ceding the number seven shirt he has worn for the past two seasons to half-back partner George Williams, with Widdop wearing the number six shirt vacated by Blake Austin's departure.

> What - if anything - can we read into Warrington Wolves' 2022 squad numbers?

Joe Philbin takes the number eight shirt that has belonged to Chris Hill since 2014 while Matty Ashton will wear number five, with Josh Charnley picking up the number two left blank by Tom Lineham.

New signing Oliver Holmes will wear 12, with skipper Jack Hughes switching to number 13 while Peter Mata'utia, who like Holmes and new head coach Daryl Powell arrives from Castleford Tigers, picks up the number three jersey as expected.

Billy Magoulias will line-up in the number 18 shirt, withother new recruits Joe Bullock, James Harrison and Greg Minikin taking numbers 15, 20 and 21 respectively.

Confirmation of the squad numbers precedes the launch of the 2022 playing kits, which takes place this evening.

Warrington Wolves squad numbers 2022:

1 Stefan Ratchford

2 Josh Charnley

3 Peter Mata’utia

4 Toby King

5 Matty Ashton

6 Gareth Widdop

7 George Williams

8 Joe Philbin

9 Daryl Clark

10 Mike Cooper

11 Ben Currie

12 Oliver Holmes

13 Jack Hughes

14 Jason Clark

15 Joe Bullock

16 Danny Walker

17 Matt Davis

18 Billy Magoulias

19 Robbie Mulhern

20 James Harrison

21 Greg Minikin

22 Josh Thewlis

23 Connor Wrench

24 Ellis Longstaff

25 Ellis Robson

26 Rob Butler

27 Riley Dean

28 Eribe Doro

29 Jacob Gannon

30 Morgan Burgess

31 Tom Whitehead