BOWLERS from across Warrington competed for a trophy that is more than a century old on Saturday.

The Bulls Head Trophy was first presented back in 1920 and for this year’s running, 32 entrants from across town battled it out to take it home.

St Albans’ Mike Spencer was the eventual winner, edging a competitive final with St Oswalds’ Ray Bate to win through 21-17.

Spencer had edged a thriller against Woolston A’s Mike Chester in the semi-finals to win 21-20, with Bate overcoming the Bulls Head’s Tony Judson 21-16 to reach the final.