HAVING been on an incredible journey, this talented group of Warrington footballers are about to follow in the footsteps of some modern greats.

And in doing so, they stand on the verge of making history for the town.

The Warrington Schoolboys under 11s team – a group selected from primary schools around the town – have reached the final of the Liverpool FA’s Goodison Cup.

As such, they have earned the right to step out at Everton FC’s famed Goodison Park home for the final against North Sefton, which takes place on Wednesday evening.

Should they win, they would become the first Warrington team to lift the trophy since 1985.

England legends Wayne Rooney and Steven Gerrard are among the players to have turned out in the same competition in their younger days, so the team are following in some illustrious footsteps.

And regardless of the result in the final, co-manager Shaun Staniford, who picks the team alongside Stu Shaw, says their achievement demonstrates the kind of talent the town’s thriving junior football scene is producing.

Warrington Guardian: The team have beaten St Helens, Wirral and Bootle on the way to the final, where they will face North SeftonThe team have beaten St Helens, Wirral and Bootle on the way to the final, where they will face North Sefton (Image: Contributed)

“I am immensely proud of the lads and whether we win or lose, I have reiterated that they must enjoy the occasion,” he said having watched the team beat St Helens, Wirral and Bootle on the road to Goodison.

“They have done Warrington proud and shows the talent and quality of footballer we are producing in the area.

“We have a great journey and the talent we have in the squad is endless.

“Historically, the strongest teams come from the Liverpool and Manchester area but we have defeated all but one of the different districts over the north west.

“We know the magnitude of the task and it was always going to be difficult, but we feel we are more than ready.”

The team and coaches would like to thank their sponsors Bumblebee Plumbing for their support throughout the campaign.

Squad: Lucas Arrowsmith, Keegan Gifford, Teddy Appleton, Max Walker, Alfie Sterling, Sam Rowlinson, Joseph Kirkpatrick, Samuel Staniford, Jack Nolan, Alfie Coen, Kane Riddings, Ollie Bridge, Sonny Gahgan, Farrell Sharpe, Harry Stewart, Lee Stewart, Louie Percival, Ralphie Marshall, Tiwa Awulomate, Jacob Leathem, Roman Gears, Viktor Vychodil, Liam Davies, Alfie Silvester