WARRINGTON Wolves have been celebrating “an outstanding year” for their girls’ section.

From holding their first trials in November of last year, The Wire now field girls teams at under 12s, 14s and 16s level in national competitions.

There have also been chances for girls aged seven to 10 to train together until they are old enough to move into the under 12s team.

End-of-season awards dinners have been taking place at the Village Hotel, with both ceremonies being attended by more than 150 guests.

“It really has been an outstanding year for all of the girls. We have really been amazed at how successful it has been,” Wolves girls chairman Lee Mitchell said.

“We are really looking forward to next year, where we will be looking to continue to provide opportunities for girls of all ages to enjoy the great game of rugby league.

“We have many people to thank for their hard work – the coaches, team managers, medical staff, strength & conditioners have done a tremendous job and of course the players have really bought into the concept.

“We also have to say a massive thank you to all the parents and family members who have supported the girls by bringing them to training and to matches.

“Also, for us to compete on a national stage costs a lot of money. We have had some great sponsors this year and I thank them all on behalf of the girls.”

Pre-season training for 2020 begins on Tuesday at Victoria Park Arena at 5.45pm and any girls wishing to come along for an open trial will be made more than welcome.

Please contact Ryan Cartledge by e-mail at RyanCartledge@wolvesfoundation.com to register your interest.

Warrington Wolves girls award winners 2019:

Under 16s: Player of the Year – Emily Tandy, Players’ Player of the Year – Leah Fisher, Club Girl of the Year – Sarah Glover

Under 14s: Player of the Year – Mollee-Anne Pickering, Players’ Player of the Year – Isabel Hackney, Club Girl of the Year – Nyah Jack

Under 12s: Player of the Year – Chelsea Turner, Players’ Player of the Year – Imogen Roberts, Club Girls of the Year – Amelia Best and Charlotte Meredith