WARRINGTON Borough Council’s new executive board has been confirmed.

Cllr Russ Bowden was formally elected as council leader last month after taking over from Cllr Terry O’Neill.

Cllr Cathy Mitchell was selected as deputy leader by the Labour group.

In the only change to the executive board, Cllr Mitchell (LAB – Burtonwood and Winwick) replaces Cllr O’Neill (LAB – Burtonwood and Winwick).

Cllr Bowden (LAB – Birchwood) will remain as executive board member for corporate finance until May, after which he will pass on the portfolio to another councillor.

A number of changes could be made following the Labour group’s annual general meeting in May.

Cllr Bowden is also keen to introduce shadow portfolio holders, which would see fellow Labour councillors shadowing executive board members.

He said: “I think we have got some big issues locally, including the local plan preferred development option and the Western Link.

“I want to engage with people and talk to them.

“If we have got some difficult decisions to make, let’s try and take people along with us.”

The executive board is now made up of Cllr Bowden, Cllr Mitchell, Cllr Jean Carter, executive board member for children’s services, Cllr Judith Guthrie, executive board member for environment and public protection, Cllr Tony Higgins, executive board member for leisure and community, Cllr Maureen McLaughlin, executive board member for public health and wellbeing, Cllr Hans Mundry, executive board member for highways, transportation and public realm, Cllr Hitesh Patel, executive board member for personnel and communications, Cllr Dan Price, executive board member for culture and partnerships, and Cllr Pat Wright, executive board member for statutory health and adult social care.