THIS week in Yester Years, we look at the arrival of one of Warrington's most famous landmarks.

In 1895, the Warrington Guardian reported on a handsome new addition to Bank Park.

Friday, June 28, will long remain a red-letter day in the history of Warrington, as it witnessed the opening of the large and handsome gates which were presented to the town by Mr Frederick Monks.

The Golden Gates have stood proudly outside Warrington Town Hall for more than a century but they were originally meant for an even more prestigious destination.

The gates, which are actually made of cast-iron, were commissioned by one of the livery companies of London as a present for Queen Victoria and were to be installed at Sandringham.

In 1862, the Queen went to Rotten Row, Hyde Park in London to inspect the gift, but she was in for a shock.

Behind the gates stood a statue of Oliver Cromwell, which so displeased the Queen she refused to accept the gift; but Sandringham’s loss was Warrington’s gain. The gates were returned to the makers, the Coalbrookdale Company in Ironbridge.

In 1893, Frederick Monks, a member of Warrington Council, was visiting Ironbridge in his capacity as a director of Monks Hall Foundry and saw the gates. He was so taken with them he bought them as a gift for the council and they were installed in pride of place in Bank Park two years later.

Find out more about bygone Warrington in a fascinating DVD - ‘Warrington The Way We Were’ The DVD is available priced £15.50 at; Warrington Guardian, The Academy, 138 Bridge Street, Warrington, WA1 2RU Or online at