ONLY a dozen Warrington Wolves players have retained their previous squad number for the 2024 season.

Departures, new arrivals, promoted young talent and some switching around all lead to considerable changes for the first campaign of the new era under Sam Burgess as head coach.

In terms of the new signings, Lachlan Fitzgibbon will wear the number 12 shirt, with Matty Nicholson reverting to 13 instead of the departed Josh McGuire.

Today's confirmed new arrival Sam Powell will take up the 32 jersey.

PNG centre Rodrick Tai is given the number 14 shirt previously held by Sam Kasiano, while prop Zane Musgrove is assigned 16 that was sported in 2023 by Danny Walker, who replaces St Helens-bound Daryl Clark at 9.

Brad Dwyer will wear number 23 and Wesley Bruines 26.

The returning Toby King will don the number 3 shirt for 2024 in place of the retired Peter Mata’utia.

Youngster Leon Hayes will wear 18 vacated by Tom Mikaele, while Jordy Crowther’s first full season in primrose and blue will see him jump from 36 to 17 - the number that was allocated to Gil Dudson in 2023.

Youngsters Zac Bardsley-Rowe and Nolan Tupaea are given their maiden first-team squad numbers at 35 and 36.

Numbers 32 to 34 remain vacant at this stage, which continues to suggest there may be some further additions to the squad or Academy promotions, with Sam Powell’s signing from Wigan thought to be one deal going through with an announcement expected soon.

Jamie Reddecliff and Bobby Shingler, who had squad numbers last season, are switching to part-time with the reserves for 2024 at this stage.

The players who keep their same jerseys as 2023 are Matt Dufty, Josh Thewlis, Stefan Ratchford, Matty Ashton, George Williams, Josh Drinkwater, James Harrison, Paul Vaughan, Ben Currie, Joe Philbin, Joe Bullock and Connor Wrench.

Those players who had squad numbers last season but are no longer with The Wire are Mata'utia (retired), Clark (St Helens), McGuire (retired), Mikaele (returned to Australia), Greg Minikin (Featherstone Rovers), Riley Dean (North Queensland Cowboys), Aiden Doolan (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Jack Darbyshire (Leigh Leopards), Ellis Longstaff (Featherstone Rovers).

Shirt printing is available from the official club store and online for £15.

Warrington Wolves 2024 squad numbers:

1 Matt Dufty

2 Josh Thewlis

3 Toby King

4 Stefan Ratchford

5 Matty Ashton

6 George Williams

7 Josh Drinkwater

8 James Harrison

9 Danny Walker

10 Paul Vaughan

11 Ben Currie

12 Lachlan Fitzgibbon

13 Matty Nicholson

14 Rodrick Tai

15 Joe Philbin

16 Zane Musgrove

17 Jordy Crowther

18 Leon Hayes

19 Joe Bullock

20 Connor Wrench

21 Sam Kasiano

22 Gil Dudson

23 Brad Dwyer

24 Matty Russell

25 Lucas Green

26 Wesley Bruines

27 Luke Thomas

28 Adam Holroyd

29 Tom Whitehead

30 Josh Lynch

31 Jake Thewlis

32 Sam Powell

35 Zac Bardsley-Rowe

36 Nolan Tupaea