THE majority of the Warrington Town squad that came so close to promotion last season will be remaining at Cantilever Park.

The club have confirmed their retention list ahead of the 2022-23 Northern Premier League campaign, with six more players having agreed terms to remain at the club.

Skipper Mark Roberts, fellow defenders Mitch Duggan and Evan Gumbs and midfielders Sean Williams, Bohan Dixon and Luke Duffy are all set to be part of Mark Beesley’s squad for the new season.

Warrington Guardian:

Sean Williams rejoined Town from Altrincham during last season. Picture by Karl Vallantine

Midfielders Jay Harris and Matty McDonald were already under contract while the club had previously confirmed top goalscorer Jordan Buckley and fellow forwards Josh Amis and Michael Howard had signed on.

The club are awaiting responses on offers made to several of last year’s squad – goalkeeper Dan Atherton, full-back Eddie Clarke and midfielders Stefan Mols, Matt Grivosti and Isaac Buckley-Ricketts.

Warrington Guardian:

Goalkeeper Dan Atherton is among those whose futures remain unclear. Picture by Karl Vallantine

Full-back James Baillie has been released and has been confirmed to have joined fellow NPL Premier Division side Ashton United along with former Town teammates Matt Regan and Ben Hough, who both turned down fresh terms with Yellows to move to Hurst Cross.

Goalkeeper Josh Ollerenshaw – signed on dual-registration as cover for Atherton – has also been released while on-loan left-back Lewis Coulton has returned to parent club Preston North End.

Three players – centre-back Mo Ali and wingers Jack Mackreth and Dom Reid – have been invited to take part in pre-season training with the squad as they recover from long-term injuries.