THE RFL have confirmed when the 2021 Challenge Cup will begin.

The first two rounds of the competition will be held over the first two weekends of March, with the 10 League One clubs joined by four teams from the Championship.

The seven winners will then be joined in the second round by nine more Championship sides – Toulouse are not participating in the competition – before the third round on March 27-28.

Warrington Wolves and their Super League rivals will join the competition in the fourth round on April 9-11.

The semi-finals are set for the weekend of June 5-6 and the final at Wembley will be held on July 17. No date for the quarter-finals has been set.

February 27-28 will see the Championship season get underway, with League One starting on March 20-21 – either side of the Super League opening day on March 11.