WHEN you think about the people behind Woolston Rovers, Harold Crank and Warren Whalley are the names at the top of the list.

They have been involved since the day dot, and therefore it was a fitting finale to the club's diamond anniversary celebrations that the pair were recognised for their monumental efforts.

Harold and Warren received a standing ovation at the The Masonic Hall when the end-of-season presentation dinner unveiled the dedicated, passionate green-and-gold duo as the joint winners of the The Freddie Brookhouse Memorial Trophy for Clubmen of the Year.

Together, they have given the club more than 100 years’ service combined.

Warrington Guardian:

When they were teammates! Warren Whalley, back row, second from left, and Harry Crank, back row, far right, as Woolston Rovers teammates in the mid 1970s.

The hand-out was the last of many trophies and medals presented in a packed room at the end of a successful 60th year of the open-age section.

Harry Files had a good night, walking away with both the club's NCL player and players' player of the year awards, while Niall Toher also did the double with the North West Men's League team.

Warrington Guardian:

Harry Files and Neil Hyde

Former Rovers player Neil Hyde, from the National Conference League side's main sponsor LNH Transport, made the presentations along with club chairman Steve Moore and, showing that their contribution never ends, president Harry Crank and senior vice president Warren Whalley.

Rovers' NCL side were crowned Division Three Champions in 2019 and all members of the squad received winners' medals.

Award winners:

NCL Player of the Year: Harry Files

NCL Players’ Player of the Year: Harry Files

NCL Back of the Year: Aaron Barber

NCL Forward of the Year: Josh Sudlow

NCL Coaches Award: Dan Fearnley

NWML Player of the Year: Niall Toher

NWML Players’ Player of the Year: Niall Toher

NWML Back of the Year: Jimmy Evans

NWML Forward of the Year: Louis Nixon

NWML Coaches Award: Ben Crewe

Open Age Leading Try Scorer (20 tries): Justin Becker

Open Age Most Improved Player: Kieran Moore

Young Player of the Year: Simon Bishop (also received The John Boyle Memorial Trophy)

Vice Presidents Award: Dan Griffiths

Presidents Award: John Morris

Clubman of the Year (Joint): Harry Crank and Warren Whalley (they also received The Freddie Brookhouse Trophy)