STEVE Price says Joe Philbin “would not let the Great Britain jersey down” if he is selected for the season-ending Lions tour.

The Warrington-born Wire prop was included in the 29-man Great Britain Performance Squad made up of Super League players that was announced on Monday.

His selection comes after a season in which the 24-year-old has continued his growth as a player during his 29 appearances – 20 of which have come from the bench.

Price believes former Culcheth Eagles junior Philbin is “made” for games like Great Britain’s clashes with New Zealand, Tonga and Papua New Guinea.

The Wire head coach also believes the forward has “grown into a man” this season.

“He wouldn’t let that Great Britain jersey down. Those kinds of games are made for Joe Philbin,” he said.

“He’s a representative player – I honestly mean that.

“He’s been really consistent in his performances, but I’m really proud of how he’s grown into a man as well.

“He’s one of the most well-respected guys I’ve come across in the game and he works extremely hard.

“There’s not many players like Joe around. He’s very old-school.

“The type of man he is is a credit to his family. He’s 100 miles per hour and we all love everything about him.

“There’s a couple of areas that he still needs to work on, but he’s aware of that and he’s driven to keep improving.

“I’d like to think the Great Britain staff are watching him very closely.”

Philbin has represented both England Knights and Ireland internationally and joins six of his Warrington Wolves teammates in the Great Britain fold.

Blake Austin, who declared his availability earlier this year, is included along with Josh Charnley, Daryl Clark, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes and Stefan Ratchford.

Ben Currie – a member of the England Elite Performance Squad – was not considered to allow him to have a full off-season.

n Great Britain Performance Squad: Jake Trueman, Liam Watts, Sam Tomkins, Jermaine McGillvary, Jake Connor, Jamie Shaul, Scott Taylor, Ash Handley, Stevie Ward, Jonny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Mark Percival, James Roby, Luke Thompson, Alex Walmsley, Lachlan Coote, Morgan Knowles, Josh Jones, Reece Lyne, Blake Austin, Josh Charnley, Daryl Clark, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Oliver Gildart, Sean O'Loughlin, George Williams