AFTER “100 minutes of edge-of-your-seat rugby,” Crosfields A are Warrington Alliance Cup champions once again.

Dylan Miller’s penalty goal in extra time saw them edge out Culcheth Eagles 18-16 at Victoria Park as Soap retained the trophy they won last year.

Miller’s boot saved Andrew Campbell’s side from defeat in the dying embers of normal time when it looked like Jake Knox’s try was going to take the trophy to Shaw Street.

“Wow, I'm absolutely drained,” Campbell said after the game.

“That was 100 minutes of edge-of-your-seat rugby – a brilliant advert for the game played by two teams wanting to play rugby despite the horrendous wet conditions after half time.

“We were lighter and younger than Culcheth, which makes our efforts even more commendable.

“Back-to-back wins and we retain the trophy – these young lads have a great future together.”

The teams turned around for the second half level at 6-6, with Joe Kohe-Love’s opener for Soap cancelled out by an interception try from Culcheth’s Charles Hewitt.

Warrington Guardian:

Joe Kohe-Love scores Crosfields' opening try

Crosfields’ Ben Kenwright and the Eagles’ Max Hewitt swapped tries before a Miller penalty goal edged Soap ahead going into the last quarter.

As the rain poured down, Knox crossed but the lack of a conversion proved crucial as Miller booted the game into an extra period.

Warrington Guardian:

Culcheth pair Charlie Maxted and Tom Disley put a stop to a Crosfields carry

With no golden point rule in action for the initial 20-minute extra period, another Miller penalty was enough to keep the trophy at Hood Lane.

Crosfields: Alex Clutterbuck; Jamie Harrison, Dylan Miller, Taylor Boyne, Aaron Holiday; Ben Kenwright, Joe Kohe-Love; Ash Catterall, Danny Lee; Robson Boyne, Josh Whitham, Dan Dowman, Phil Brazendale. Subs: Joe Roper, Louis Walsh, Liam James, Scott Leyland

Culcheth: Jacob Maxted; Charlie Hewitt, Conner Gater, Tom Disley, Jake Knox; Adam Raiford, Paul Martin; Jack Weaver, Max Hewitt, Rob Cox, Charlie Maxted, Gareth Burrows, Adam Heggie. Subs: Adam Wright, Alex Wilde, Jesel Patel, Des Thompson