WE are a little closer to knowing the Wire team to face St Helens on Friday after Steve Price named his 19-man squad.

Jack Hughes is brought back into the squad as expected having been rested for last week’s win over London Broncos, with Sitaleki Akauola dropping out.

It means Matt Davis, who enjoyed a solid debut against the Broncos, keeps his place.

That is the only change to The Wire’s 19-man squad, so the game comes too soon for both Bryson Goodwin and Jake Mamo, who both have ankle injuries.

Mike Cooper, who was named in last week’s squad but was also rested, is expected to come back into the starting front row in place of Lama Tasi.

Wire squad: Ryan Atkins, Blake Austin, Josh Charnley, Daryl Clark, Jason Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie, Matt Davis, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes, Toby King, Tom Lineham, Harvey Livett, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Declan Patton, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Lama Tasi, Danny Walker.

Saints welcome Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook back into their squad while Jonny Lomax is expected to return after missing last week’s defeat to Catalans through illness.

Youngster Jack Welsby drops out of the squad named by head coach Justin Holbrook.

Saints squad: Jonny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Kevin Naiqama, Mark Percival, Regan Grace, Danny Richardson, Alex Walmsley, James Roby, Luke Thompson, Zeb Taia, Joseph Paulo, Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Morgan Knowles, Kyle Amor, Dom Peyroux, Matty Lees, Jack Ashworth, Aaron Smith, Lachlan Coote.