THE Wire versus Widnes Vikings 'derby' is back - in the new women's rugby league season.

While the men will not be meeting in the league this year following Vikings' relegation from Super League, the women will take over the rivalry and will meet in round two at Asics Victoria Park Stadium in Latchford next month.

> Confirmed Wolves Women 28-strong squad for 2019

That will be the first home game for the newly formed Wolves side in the 14-round Women's Championship, which will have its Grand Final alongside the Women's Super League Grand Final at Emerald Headingley Stadium in Leeds on Sunday, October 13.

The Wire women, who are coached by the Westwoods - Lee and Ben, will open their campaign at Barrow a week earlier.

Warrington Guardian:

Wire legend Ben Westwood, who is assistant coach to the Wolves women's team. Picture: Mike Boden

They will also have matches against Stanningley, Oulton Raidettes, Leigh Miners Rangers, Hull FC and Huddersfield Giants.

All games are scheduled for Sundays, with all home Wire games planned for Victoria Park (full fixture list below).

Warrington Guardian:

Asics Victoria Park Stadium in Latchford, Warrington. Picture: Mike Boden

Each team will play each other home and away in the regular season.

The top four teams will then enter into semi-final play-offs, with first place playing fourth and second playing third, to decide who will be heading to Leeds for the decider the following week.

Warrington will also feature in the Coral Women’s Challenge Cup, which will take place alongside the domestic league competition and is expected to be bigger and better in 2019 as more teams than ever before enter.

The Women’s Final will take place as part of a triple header event alongside the Coral Challenge Cup men’s semi-finals at the University of Bolton Stadium on Saturday, July 27.

Round One, which takes place on Sunday, May 5, will feature 16 teams – the eight teams from the Women’s Championship, including Warrington, and eight teams who progress through the preliminary qualifying round.

All eight Women’s Super League teams will then enter in Round Two which takes place on Sunday, May 26.

The quarter-finals will be played on Sunday, June 6 and semi-finals on Sunday, July 7.

Selected fixtures from across both the Women’s Super League and Coral Women’s Challenge Cup will be streamed live on the Our League app and website.

Download the Our League app on Apple iOS and Android or visit to sign up for FREE or visit to sign up for FREE


R1: April 7: Barrow...A

R2: April 14: Widnes Vikings...H

R3: April 28: Stanningley...H

R4: May 12: Oulton Raidettes...A

R5: June 2: Leigh Miners Rangers...H

R6: June 30: Hull FC...A

R7: July 21: Huddersfield Giants...H

R8: August 4: Barrow...H

R9: August 11: Widnes Vikings...A

R10: August 18: Stanningley...A

R11: September 1: Oulton Raidettes...H

R12: September 8: Leigh Miners Rangers...A

R13: September 15: Hull FC...H

R14: September 29: Huddersfield Giants...A

Semi-finals: October 6

Women’s Championship Grand Final: October 13: At Emerald Headingley Stadium