STEFAN Ratchford leads the early Warrington Wolves charge for the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award after the first round of voting was revealed.

The Wire full-back scored a try and kicked five goals in the 26-6 win over Leeds Rhinos and that was enough to win him three points under the new system.

Josh Charnley was awarded two points, with Daryl Clark awarded one point.

After Super League announced an overhaul in the way their top individual honour was voted for, one of a panel of 21 former players will watch each Super League match and pick their three stand-out players.

The man of the match will be awarded three points, the runner-up two points and the third-place player one point.

The scores will be made public every week until round 22 of Super League in mid-July. From then, the voting will be kept under wraps until the winner is revealed at the Man Of Steel Awards ceremony in October.

Warrington Guardian:

Daryl Clark scored two Man of Steel points against Leeds. Picture by Mike Boden

Round One scores:

Three points: Mitch Garbutt (Hull KR), Niall Evalds (Salford), Stefan Ratchford (Warrington), Alex Walker (London), James Roby (St Helens), Liam Watts (Castleford)

Two points: Josh Drinkwater (Hull KR), Ken Sio (Salford), Josh Charnley (Warrington), Eddie Battye (London), Luke Thompson (St Helens), Paul McShane (Castleford)

One point: James Greenwood (Hull KR), Izaac Farrell (Huddersfield), Daryl Clark (Warrington), Jordan Abdull (London), Liam Marshall (Wigan), Kenny Edwards (Catalans)