WARRINGTON’S winter bowls league sweeps will start at Bewsey Park on Sunday.

Entry fee is £5 and a current Warrington Parks’ League season ticket must be bought in order to participate.

Contact John Pownall on jl.powwnall@ntlworld.com or 07541 523647 to enter.

Bowlers will be celebrating 40 years of the Warrington Women’s Evening League at a presentation night taking place tomorrow, Friday, at St Oswalds Club from 7.30pm. As well as the prize giving, there will be entertainment, bingo, a raffle and refreshments.

Warrington and North Cheshire Bowls Association’s Centenary Trophy Final was won by St Oswalds A, who defeated St Albans 140-138 at Tetleys.

Man of the match was St Oswalds' Dave Penketh, who overhauled P Peers 21-4.

St Oswalds A, Centenary Trophy winners

Result: St Oswalds A (handicap -8) 140 v St Albans (handicap 30) 138: J Lockett 21 G Horton 12, D Bennett 21 N McCormack 7, R Bate 10 S Heath 21, D Penketh 21 P Peers 4, C Bebbington 21 S Gomersall 10, L Johnstone 20 M Spencer 21, R Nevins 21 T Donoghue 12, S Goodwin 13 R Lawrenson 21.

Silverware was clinched at Warrington and North Cheshire Bowls Association's finals day at Grange Sports Club.


WNCBA Player of the Year Final: R Lawrenson (St Albans) 10 L Johnstone (St Oswalds) 21.

31 up Pairs Final: P Clegg’s team (Golborne) 31 H Horton’s team (Bulls Head) 30.

Tom Cunningham Cup semi finals: I Porter (Woolston) 21 R Goodhand (K/Q) 14, D Morrison (K/Q) 21 L Wells (K/Q) 18.

Tom Cunningham Cup Final: D Morrison (K/Q) 21 I Porter (Woolston) 20.

Chadwick Trophy Final: St Albans 21 King & Queen A 13.

Parks Player of the Year Final: D Ashton (St Elphins No2) 17 A Noon (Victoria No1) 21.

Derek Gorton Spring Handicap Trophy: T Kenyon (Stockton Heath No3) beat G Hughes (Victoria No1).