WOOLSTON Rovers have appointed Mal Holt as their permanent head coach.

Holt has been in interim charge at Monks Sports Club since previous head coach John Fieldhouse – under whom he served as an assistant coach – resigned in May.

He has overseen an upturn in form since taking charge, with Rovers winning four of their past six games to surge back into contention for promotion from National Conference League Division Three.

“It was an easy decision to make to take on the role and I am grateful to the committee and players for giving me their backing,” Holt said.

“We can then see at the end of the year where we are as a club and what we need to do to develop the open age section further.

“The atmosphere around the club is very good at the moment and there is a quiet confidence amongst the lads that we can achieve our pre-season goal of promotion.”

Holt’s first game in the permanent role sees Rovers travel to unbeaten league leaders Beverley on Saturday, kick off 2.30pm.

Woolston Rovers A 34 Langworthy Reds 4

A DOMINANT display saw Woolston Rovers A return to winning ways in fine style on Saturday.

Kieran Jones’ second-half hat-trick was the highlight of Rovers’ display, with Liam Sullivan, Will Chadwick and Jack Sherratt also getting over the whitewash.

Glyn Roberts had a good day with the boot as he kicked five goals in Woolston’s convincing victory.

“We knew that Langworthy were going to be a tough proposition, but our attitude was great throughout and we never let them settle,” coach Andy Penny said.

“We were probably guilty of playing too much expansive rugby in the first half and it led to more errors than I would have liked.

“That is the way we like to play and it certainly paid off in the second half.

“It is no secret that it has been a tough couple of months for us, but hopefully this will give us confidence moving forward and we can have a good end to the season.”

Rovers A are in NWML Trophy action on Saturday when they host Chester Gladiators, kick off 2.30pm.

Woolston A: Liam Sullivan; Conor Clarke, Danny Griffiths, Niall Toher, Sean Millington; Glyn Roberts, Will Chadwick; Jack Sherratt, Ryan Brown, Max Ainsworth, Kyle Brown, Shaun Yoxall, Nathan Evans. Subs: Kieran Jones, Jay Ryder, Anthony Clayton, Josh Sudlow.