WARRINGTON players, including a triallist, have been announced in Scotland's squad for the forthcoming European Championships - but 2013 World Cup star Matty Russell is not included.

Wolves full back Russell misses out on the 27-man squad after Scotland chiefs reveal the 21-year-old needs an operation when his club duties end this season.

However, there is a call-up into Steve McCormack's 26-man squad for one of the stars of Wolves' successful Academy team, Ryan Maneely, as well as a youngster, Richard Harris, who has been on trial with Warrington.

Although stated in the Scotland Rugby League squad announcement this morning that Harris has 'just moved to Warrington from London' and is listed as a Warrington player, Wolves chiefs have since confirmed that the 18-year-old centre is on trial but has not been signed.

Harris has been a shining light in the London Academy team and represented Scotland under 19s in their successful RL Commonwealth Championship campaign in July, scoring in a memorable 18-18 draw with Australia and adding a hat-trick in a 36-6 thrashing of South Africa at the Broadwood Stadium in North Lanarkshire. He also figured in an impressive 14-8 win against England.

Harris learned his early rugby league skills at Medway Dragons in Gillingham, Kent, prior to signing professional forms with London Broncos.

Hooker, Maneely, aged 19, who is expected to figure for Wolves under 19s in Saturday's Academy Grand Final against Wigan Warriors at The Halliwell Jones Stadium, has previously been capped by England at under 16s level. He has developed his game through the Wolves scholarship ranks.

Scotland, who will trim their squad to 20 players before the tournament, gather on October 12 to prepare for the trip to west Cumbria to play John Kear’s Wales.

They then face Ireland in Dublin on Saturday, October 25, and finish their season against France on Friday, October 31, at Galashiels.

Scotland squad: Danny Addy (Bradford Bulls), Josh Barlow (Swinton Lions), Sam Barlow (Leigh Centurions), Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants), Harvey Burnett (London Broncos), Brett Carter (Workngton Town), Sonny Esslemont (Hull KR), Richard Harris (Warrington Wolves), Ben Hellewell (Featherstone Rovers),Alex Hurst (Tweed Heads Seagulls), Ben Kavanagh (Widnes Vikings), Corbyn Kilday (Wakefield Trinity), Ryan Maneely (Warrington Wolves), Nathan Massey (Canterbury Bulldogs), Joe McLean (Gloucestershire All Golds), Iain Morrison (York City Knights), Lee Paterson (York City Knights), Brett Phillips (Workington Town), Callum Phillips (Workington Town), David Scott (Doncaster), Jack Stewart (Hull KR), Oscar Thomas (London Broncos), Shane Toal (Barrow Raiders), Adam Walker (Hull KR), Alex Walker (London Broncos), Jonathan Walker (Leigh Centurions), Joe Wardle (Huddersfield Giants).