COUNCILLORS chalked up more than £722,000 in allowances and expenses over 2020-21, it can be revealed.

Warrington Borough Council has published the member allowances claimed for the latest year, 2020-21.

Councillors each had a basic allowance of around £8,462.

In addition to the basic allowance, most councillors received travel allowances while some also had a special responsibility allowance.

Among the special responsibility allowances was £20,015 for the council leader, £15,012 for the deputy leader and £10,008 for cabinet members.

The chairs of a number of council committees – including the development management committee and licensing committee – received around £8,506.

Furthermore, the opposition group leader got around £8,506.

As council leader, Cllr Russ Bowden topped the list of allowances claimed, with £28,985, and deputy leader Cllr Cathy Mitchell got £23,960.

Cllr Maureen Creaghan got £18,094 which included a mayoral allowance.

Cllr Tony Higgins got £18,956, Cllr Tom Jennings got £18,075, Cllr Maureen McLaughlin got £18,470, Cllr Hans Mundry got £18,956 and Cllr Hitesh Patel got £18,956.

Former cabinet members Judith Guthrie, Matt Smith and Rebecca Knowles – who have since lost their seats – each got £18,956.

Cllr Bob Barr, leader of the town’s Liberal Democrats, which was the Opposition group, got £17,454.

Meanwhile, Cllr Jean Carter got £17,454, Cllr Chris Fitzsimmons £17,454, Cllr Jean Flaherty £17,454, Cllr Graham Friend £17,454, Cllr Wendy Johnson £17,688 and Cllr John Kerr-Brown £17,454.

The allowances claimed by councillors in 2020-21 totalled £722,078.

Each year, before making any change to its scheme of councillors’ allowances, the council must seek and take into account the recommendations of an independent remuneration panel.

A notice outlining the panel’s recommendations and the response of the council is published each year.

To view the full list of the allowances of each councillor visit