LYMM and Thelwall look set to become part of the Tatton constituency under a shakeup of England’s electoral map.

The Boundary Commission for England has revealed a raft of proposed changes across the country, with just under 10 per cent of existing constituencies remaining unchanged.

In Warrington, the most drastic changes can be found in Warrington South – which will lose Lymm and Thelwall to Tatton, currently held by Tory MP Esther McVey.

Warrington Guardian:

The redrawn boundary at Lymm - blue indicates the existing constituencies, while red shows the altered border

Meanwhile, Daresbury and Moore – which are in the Weaver Vale ward at present – will form part of a new Runcorn and Helsby constituency.

Warrington North is almost entirely unchanged, save for minor changes which will see the Westbrook Centre moved to Warrington South and part of Chetham Court at Winwick Quay – home to businesses including Tenpin Warrington, formerly LA Bowl – switched in the opposite direction.

Warrington Guardian:

A consultation on the plans, which will see the number of constituencies in England increased to 543 from 533, is now underway and runs until August 2.

This will be followed by two further consultations during next year, following which final recommendations will be drawn up.

Proposals are due to be implemented in 2023, and aim to ensure that each constituency has roughly the same number of voters.

Warrington Guardian:

The existing and new maps

Tim Bowden, secretary to the Boundary Commission for England, said: “Today’s proposals mark the first time people get to see what the new map of parliamentary constituencies might look like.

“But they are just the commission’s initial thoughts.

“Help us draw the line to make the number of electors in each parliamentary constituency more equal.

“Each constituency we recommend is required by law to contain between 69,724 and 77,062 electors, meaning there will be significant change to current boundaries.

“We want to hear the views of the public to ensure that we get the new boundaries for parliamentary constituencies right.”