LEGENDARY Pulp frontman Jarvis Cocker has been added to the line-up of this year’s Bluedot Festival at Knutsford’s iconic Jodrell Bank Observatory.

The 90s Britpop superstar was announced as part of this year’s line-up when a third wave of artists were revealed.

The festival has also revealed day tickets will be available tomorrow, Friday from 10am.

“Renowned as the legendary frontman of Pulp, Jarvis was a figurehead of Britpop, later cementing himself as a hugely successful solo artist in his own right,” said a spokesman for Bluedot. “Expect an energetic set of new material fused with hits from an enormous back catalogue.”

Following the successes of their 2018 world tour, Sons of Kemet also joins the eclectic bill. With a kinetic, earth-shaking sound, the MOBO award-winning four-piece promise an electrifying performance.

Also topping the bill is Derrick Carter’s Cosmic Disco – a sublime mix of futuristic tribal house and tech-disco, hosted by the UK’s most exciting disco party La Discotèque.

Bluedot has also announced the first names on this year’s comedy line-up as part of the festival’s art and culture programme. Highlights include award-winning comedian John Robins. John has gained a devoted following for his podcast ‘The Elis James and John Robins Show’ receiving more than 25 million downloads and a regular fixture in the podcast charts.

Warrington Guardian:

John Robins

Other additions include Knightmare Live – the critically acclaimed stage adaptation of the cult TV show, Knightmare, Irish freestyle rapper and comedian Abandoman, Keri Pritchard-Mclean, The Dark Room, Paul Foot, Ivo Graham, Elf Lyons, Andrew O’Neill, John Luke Roberts, David Trent, Joey Page, Manchester’s finest tech comedy duo Foxdog Studios, Ben Target and rising star Micky Overman.

Elsewhere on the line-up are Kinshasan collective KOKOKO, experimental space voyagers Golden Dawn Arkestra, God Colony, Binkbeats, Oshun, Werkha, Self Esteem, Leifur James and Emma-Jean Thackray.

Also featured is south London foursome Another Sky, Squid Working Men’s Club, Spill Gold, singer-songwriter Francis Lung, Bradford on Avon favourites Wasuremono, See Thru Hands, Grace Lightman, six-piece indie-rockers Talkboy, SPQR and Deep Water.

Late night parties include Nyege Nyege Tapes presenting an exclusive line-up including Otim Alpha, Slickback and electro Acholi pioneer Leo P-Layeng, while Mixmag will host genre-blending DJ Josey Rebelle and energetic party mixer Peach. Other additions include Manchester DJ and producer Willow and sets from award-winning DJ Ralph Lawson, both hosted by Inner City Electronic, plus Daniel Miller DJ Sets and Fleetmac Wood – a Fleetwood Mac mash-up of exclusive remixes and edits crafted for the dance floor.

As well as its live and electronic programme, Bluedot has also announced the first names from its science and culture programme that this year will be centred around the 50th anniversary of the Moon landing.

Key speakers include Dr Helen Sharman the UK’s first astronaut and the first woman on the Mir space station, veteran broadcaster and science historian James Burke, the UK Space Agency’s human spaceflight expert Libby Jackson, Dr Katherine Joy, Dr Simeon Barber and broadcaster Dallas Campbell presenting an in-depth examination of returning to the Moon and establishing a permanent human presence on its surface.

Visit discoverthebluedot.com.