Warrington Wolves learn RFL board ratifies sport's structure changes

RFL board ratifies sport's structure changes

RFL board ratifies sport's structure changes

First published in Wolves news

THE RFL’s independent Board of Directors has ratified the decisions made at the meeting of Super League clubs on Friday, January 17, to become a 12-team competition from 2015 and participate in a new league structure.

The new structure will see both the First Utility Super League and Kingstone Press Championship become 12-team competitions that split into three groups of eight in the latter stages of the season.

The RFL board’s ratification means that two clubs will be relegated from the First Utility Super League at the end of the 2014 season, with the relegated clubs to be those finishing in 13th and 14th position after 27 rounds.

Details of the decision, its impact on the clubs currently outside Super League, the mechanisms by which the Kingstone Press Championship will become a 12-team competition and the new format of Championship One will be outlined to the Championships clubs at a meeting on Thursday, February 6.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree