WARRINGTON Wolves prop Paul Wood has been named in both Swinton Lions and Warrington Wolves 19-man squads for games on Sunday.

Wood is joined by another Wolves Super League regular from 2012, Tyrone McCarthy, in Steve McCormack's named 19 for Swinton's Championship opener against Workington Town at Leigh Sports Village on Sunday.

As things stand, dual registration laws allow five players from a Super League squad to play for a partner club.

However, Ryan Shaw, Jack Morrison, James Mendeika, Danny Bridge, Glenn Riley, Gene Ormsby and James Laithwaite are also included in McCormack's 19.

Shaw, Morrison, Mendeika, Bridge, Riley and Ormsby have all been given Swinton squad numbers, giving the impression they are signings rather than playing on dual registration terms.

Warrington Wolves have not made any official statement in this regard.

Swinton's pre-match announcement reads: "Veteran Warrington prop Paul Wood will line up for Swinton against Workington at Leigh Sports Village on Sunday 3pm.

"He's joined by Super League teammates Tyrone McCarthy and James Laithwaite as three dual registration players in the Lions 19-man squad for the opening game in the Championship.

"It will be Wood’s first competitive game after surgery on an injury he got in Warrington’s Grand Final defeat to Leeds Rhinos in October.

"He returned to action in Warrington's friendly against Widnes on Boxing Day.

"Loose forward McCarthy, 25, has spent three seasons with the Wolves which has included spells with Wakefield and Leigh.

"Back rower Laithwaite, 21, came through the Warrington academy and spent most of last season on dual registration at Leigh.

"The squad includes nine new signings and seven players returning from last season."

Swinton’s 19-man squad: 1 Richie Hawkyard, 2 Andy Ballard, 3 Martin Ainscough, 7 Ian Watson, 8 David Mills, 9 Mark Smith, 10 Neil Holland, 12 Darren Hawkyard, 13 Josh Barlow, 14 Liam Hulme, 17 Ryan Shaw, 18 Jack Morrison, 19 James Mendieka, 20 Danny Bridge, 21 Glenn Riley, 22 Gene Ormsby, Paul Wood, James Laithwaite, Tyrone McCarthy.