THREE tries in the last seven minutes of the first half have put Wolves in control at Wakefield Trinity Wildcats.

The game finally sparked into life after successive penalties conceded by Wakefield paved the way for two tries from centre Ben Currie and one from his wing partner Gene Ormsby.

Until then, it had been dire stuff.

Wolves weathered an early storm of defending their line for four successive sets, with Ben Westwood perhaps lucky to be still on the field after a dangerous tackle that resulted in Wakefield prop Scott Andersoon leaving the field dazed.

After soaking up the pressure though, Tony Smith’s men responded clinically.

Ex-Wolves full back Richie Mathers lost his footing on the wing as Ryan Atkins got clear and Stefan Ratchford would not be stopped from 40 metres out. Chris Bridge converted for 6-0 after 11 minutes.

A 28-minute wait was needed for the next score, Bridge supplying Currie on the angle after Wakefield had conceded successive penalties.

Ratchford then cut open Wakefield’s heart and rebuffed a challenge to feed Matty Russell in support. The full back found space on the right and combined with Westwood to send Currie flying over for his second score in the second minute of added time.

Wolves were not finished though, capitalising on Paul Sykes kicking the re-start out on the full.

Again they went to Currie’s right flank, where this time Ratchford and Bridge did the work for Gene Ormsby to somehow squeeze over in the tightest of environments by the corner post in the sixth minute of added time.

It was the last act of the half.

Wolves: Matty Russell; Gene Ormsby, Ben Currie, Ryan Atkins, Rhys Evans; Stefan Ratchford, Chris Bridge; Chris Hill, Micky Higham, Anthony England, Ben Westwood, James Laithwaite, Ben Harrison. Subs: Richie Myler, Roy Asotasi, Brad Dwyer, Ben Evans.

Wildcats: Jarrod Sammut; Richie Mathers, Matt Ryan, Lucas Walshaw, Richard Owen; Paul Sykes, Harry Siejka; Scott Anderson, Matty Wildie, Nick Scruton, Danny Washbrook, Danny Kirmond, Jacob Fairbank. Subs: Pita Godinet, Richard Moore, Chris Annakin, Jon Molloy.

Referee: George Stokes