Rylands Sharks 42 Portico Vine 18

RYLANDS got back to winning ways in Division Two of the NWML against a Portico side whose poor discipline throughout the game cost them dearly.

The Sharks started brightly and were on the scoreboard after only two minutes when the returning Andy Brown forced his way over the try line with Pete Leonard adding the extras.

Sharks forward Lewis Litherland was next to cross when he bulldozed his way through the Portico defence to increase the Sharks' advantage, again converted by Leonard.

Rylands maintained their good start and kept their visitors on the back foot with Matty Wilson bursting through the Portico line to score and Leonard converting.

Rylands were now fully in control of the match and added two further tries through Brown and Danny Hoyland.

Some respite came for the St Helens outfit when with 40 minutes played Portico’s hooker Nathan Ashurt snatched a try back for the visitors with Ste Francis adding the conversion giving the Sharks a 26-6 lead at the turnaround.

The second period was more of the same with Rylands remaining dominant throughout, Pete Leonard added his name to the try scorers with a well taken touchdown converted by Chris Meacock.

Portico scored their second try of the game when Darren Wilson raced over the Sharks line with Ste Francis adding the extras.

But only a minute later the Sharks were in again when man-of-the-match Jack Sherratt crashed over the visitors’ line.

The remainder of the game became a rather scrappy affair only brightened by both teams swapping late tries through Nathan Ashurt for Portico converted by Francis and Aaron Holiday for the hosts with Matty Taylor adding the extras on 72 minutes to the leave the Sharks comfortable winners.

Best for Rylands were Jack Sherrat, Lewis Litherland, and Ryan Palin, while combative Derek Hughes shone for the away side.

Rylands: Chris Meacock, Danny Hoyland, Andy Brown, Jack Hancock, Aaron Holiday, Matty Ryan, Pete Leonard, Mike Lager, Louis Walsh, Jack Sherrat, Lewis Litherland, Matty Taylor, Matty Wilson, Ben Kenwright, Ryan Palin, Jason Brookes, Tony Fretwell.