Warrington Wolves u19 34 Widnes Vikings u19 16

WARRINGTON bounced back to winning ways with a convincing Good Friday victory over arch rivals Widnes.

Wolves were 28-0 ahead and fought off a strong looking comeback late in the game.

The opening try came in the 10th minute when Wolves centre Jake Eccleston reacted quickest to a lovely Declan Patton chip into the in-goal area.

Harvey Livett added the extras and then went over moments later on the right when Wolves made the most of an extra man after Vikings’ Ryan Ince was sin binned for deliberate offside.

Warrington took advantage again in the 25th minute to move further clear, but this time a Vikings handling error on their own 20 metre line led to a change-over of possession and quick hands from Louis Joufrett and Livett put winger Declan Kay over for Wolves’ third try of the afternoon.

A fantastic first-half performance was capped off soon after the half hour mark when Joufrett scored a superb solo effort, rounding three defenders and steaming home from 40 metres out. Livett converted his third goal of the game to make it a comfortable looking 22-0 at the interval.

Patton put Wolves seemingly out of sight 10 minutes into the second period but Widnes reacted with hooker Almer Saville catching the Wolves defence napping with a quickly taken penalty to launch a fight-back.

Just three minutes later Widnes were through again when Ted Chapelhow latched on to a fumbled kick.

The quickfire treble was rounded off in the 70th minute with substitute Joel Albiston racing over and Ed Chamberlain adding the extras to reduce the deficit to 12 points.

The Vikings charge proved to have come too late and any hope that they harboured of getting anything from the game was extinguished a minute from time when Joe Philbin stepped back inside to power over between the posts.

Wolves: Jack Johnson; Declan Kay, Harvey Livett, Jake Eccleston, Ben Stansfield; Louis Jouffret, Declan Patton; Robert Holroyd, Sean Kenny, George King, Joe Philbin, Sam Wilde, Ryan Maneely. Subs: Daniel Murray, Alex Whalley, Brad Stanway, James Jones.

Vikings: Ed Chamberlain; Dale Rothwell, Matt Barrow, Ryan Ince, Danny Stapleton; Connor Davies, Konnagh Hill; Ted Chapelhow, Almer Saville, Jonny Griffiths, Lloyd Hankin, Sam Welch, Joe Collins. Subs: Danny Dakin, Joel Albiston, Nathan Sharratt, Ged Saundry.