BOWLER Damien Morrison collected the £320 winner’s prize in the Carlsberg Tetley Classic on Saturday.

He defeated King and Queen clubmate John Brown in the final on the Tetley Walker green.

Early wins saw Karen Galvin see off Larry Wells before succumbing to Brown in the quarter final.

Brown’s opponent in the semi final was Brendan Brady, who had beaten the Cheshire Junior Merit champion Danny Bennett and then Danny Watson in a hard-fought quarter final.

Brown and Brady seemed intent in pulling out quality bowls on the other’s lead and they were level throughout, with Brown eventually edging home 21-18.

In the other half of the draw, Lee Johnstone proved too much for teammate Stuart Goodwin and then beat All England winner John Taylor in the quarter finals.

Meanwhile, had proved too strong for Ray Nevins and then produced a fine 21-10 win against the much fancied Kevin Wainwright in the quarter final.

In the second semi final, Johnstone and Morrison traded blows early on and the game was open at 10-10 before Morrison used the edges of the green to his advantage and raced to a 21-12 victory.

Morrison’s consistency was rewarded in the final 21-9.

And now after the first of 10 competitions making up the new Warrington Bowls Circuit, Morrison leads the way on the Livewire ranking table.

The next ranking event is this week’s Supply Chain Operations Open, which has its final day’s play and £1,500 first prize up for grabs at Tetley Walker on Sunday from 4pm.


Carlsberg Tetley Classic last 16: D Watson 21, H Feather 10, B Brady 21, D Bennett (Jnr) 13, L Wells 7, K Galvin 21, J Brown 21, J Lester 7, E Frangleton 12, J Taylor 21, S Goodwin 12, L Johnstone 21, R Nevins 12, D Morrison 21, K Wainwright 21, D Bennett (Snr) 13.

Last eight: Watson 16, Brady 21, Galvin 12, Brown 21, Taylor 14, Johnstone 21, Morrison 21, Wainwright 10.

Semi finals: Brady 18, Brown 21, Johnstone 12, Morrison 21.

Final: Morrison 21, Brown 9.


LIVEWIRE RANKING TABLE (after one event)

1 Damian Morrison 6pts

2 John Brown 5pts

3 Brendan Brady 4pts

4 Lee Johnstone 4pts

5 Karen Galvin 3pts

6 John Taylor 3pts

7 Kevin Wainwright 3pts

8 Danny Watson 3pts

9 Danny Bennett 2pts

10 Dave Bennett 2pts

11 Howard Feather 2pts

12 Eric Frangleton 2pts

13 Stuart Goodwin 2pts

14 John Lester 2pts

15 Ray Nevins 2pts

16 Larry Wells 2pts