MAKE a note in your diary because some of bowls’ elite performers will contest the Tommy Garaven Memorial Trophy Invitation at Tetley Walker on Grand National day.

Thirty-two players will battle for the £750 prize on the number one green on April 5 from 10am, with a break in play afforded for watching horse racing’s big event in the afternoon.

Nineteen top bowlers from around the country are in the mix with 13 crack shots from the Warrington area.

Funds will be raised for the intensive care unit at Warrington Hospital and therefore organisers are making an event of the occasion. Entrance and programme will be £1, raffle tickets £1. Bookmakers will be on site, food will be available all day.



Invited 32: Gary Ellis, Simon Coupe, Gareth Gwilliam, Glynn Cookson, Dave Jackson, Tommy King, Jack Hargreaves, Andy Moss, Calum Wraight, Ritchie Goddard, Martin Gilpin, Ian Nicholson, John Bailey, Paul Bailey, Gregg Smith, Chris Brown, James Davison, Darren Plenderleith, Paul Lamb, Tommy Johnstone, Lee Johnstone, Carl Armitage, Damien Morrison, Chris Ashton, Larry Wells, John Brown, Danny Watson, Alan Manuel, John Taylor, Kevin Wainwright, Tony Gatley, John Bradshaw.