ALL sitting Labour councillors have been chosen to stand again at the local elections next year.

Party members met at the USDAW offices in Warrington on Saturday to choose the 19 people who will stand in the elections in May.

It will run alongside the General Election.

The selection follows a controversial decision earlier this year when former deputy Mayor Jan Davidson was not selected in a seat Labour would go onto lose in May’s election to the Lib Dems.

Labour currently has 43 of the 57 seats at the Town Hall.

Leader of the Labour run Town Hall, Clr Terry O’Neill (Lab - Burtonwood & Winwick), said: "We wanted to get our candidates in place as early as possible because we are fighting for every vote.

“I am delighted with the high standard of candidates that we have selected for the 2015 local elections.

“This is one of the strongest set of candidates we've ever fielded and it’s great to see people from all sections of society being represented.”

“They have all shown passion, drive and dedication and have committed themselves to standing up for local residents.

“They are fantastic ambassadors for the Labour party in Warrington and I am looking forward to working with each of our candidates, across all the wards, from now until polling day.”

The list of candidates in full

Appleton Andrew Davidson

Bewsey and Whitecross Steve Parish*

Birchwood Chris Fitzsimmons*

Burtonwood and Winwick John Joyce*

Culcheth, Glazebury & Croft Cathy Mitchell

Fairfield and Howley Tony Higgins*

Grappenhall and Thelwall Tom Jennings

Great Sankey North Dan Price*

Great Sankey South Jean Carter*

Latchford East Hans Mundry*

Latchford West Maureen McLaughlin*

Lymm Kevin Burgess

Orford Kate Hannon*

Penketh and Cuerdley Linda Dirir*

Poplars and Hulme Steve Roberts*

Poulton North Graham Friend*

Rixton and Woolston Paul Bretherton*

Stockton Heath Karen Mundry

Whittle Hall Faisal Rashid*

* = sitting councillor